Carpenter Tech

My name is Adam Carpenter and I am a freelance, general-purpose computer programmer.

I run a business called Carpenter Tech that aims to help you answer these questions by offering the following services.

I am down to earth and enjoy solving problems. If you think I may be able to help solve yours,


Adam T. Carpenter

atc@53hor.net www.53hor.net git.53hor.net

I am a computer programmer who has been developing and maintaining native and web applications since 2018. I have also been providing systems administration services and technical mentoring since 2016. I aim to create simple, performant, and well-documented software that solves real problems with no surprises.

I am fluent in Rust, C#, Python, JavaScript, Bourne Shell, and HTML+CSS. I am also familiar with Java, PHP, C, C++, TypeScript, and PowerShell. I have used a variety of frameworks and libraries, as well as a myriad of web servers, databases, and "DevOps" platforms.


Skills

Software Engineering

Systems Administration

Technical Mentoring, Leadership


Work History

Software Engineer

Automatic Data Processing (August 2021-Present)

Application Developer

Automatic Data Processing (June 2018-August 2021)

Web Application Designer & Developer

Freelance (July 2019-Present)

Technology Support Specialist, Repair Technician

The College of William & Mary (February 2015-May 2018)


Academic History

I have a Bachelor of Science in Computer Science and graduated from the College of William and Mary in May of 2018. While there, I participated in several group software development projects such as hybrid Android application testing and presided over the campus Game Design Club.


About Me

I wrote my first program on a TI-84 in BASIC to help finish my high school math homework faster. I quickly transitioned to building more complicated programs but have continued to enjoy finding the smallest amount of code to solve a problem quickly, correctly, and securely.

I grew up in and still call Hampton Roads, Virginia my home. In my spare time I drive and maintain a classic car, a 1953 Hudson Hornet. I enjoy travelling and being at home with my wife and cocker spaniel. I also self-host a web server in a closet in my home.

I keep a public journal on my web site.